Gardening or photos? How about both!

With some recent good weather i found myself unable to come up with any good reasons to not get out and do some work in the garden. Of course, i really wanted to get out and about with the camera and take some photos, but then i noticed some of the flowers were starting to come into bloom. So rather than just gardening i decided it i really had to take a few flower photos. It’s not something i do a lot of, but it’s nice to photograph some of the beauty that nature provides us with, and right outside the door too.

Tulips

The main flowers coming out at the moment are Tulips

Forest Flame

I dont know the correct name, but this is known as a Forest Flame due to the new growth being a fiery red.

Grape Hyacinth

These Grape Hyacinths are growing a bit wild, but theyre really nice, so im happy with that.

Tulips

There are smaller Tulips growing amongst the larger ones making a nice mixture.

Tulip

Taken using a Lensbaby Composer at f2.8

Tulip

I couldn't resist some balck and white versions. This is a purple Tulip.

Tulips

Another black and white, this time of the yellow and red Tulips.

P.T

About PurpleT

Much of my photography is art and documentary. I try to capture a scene as i see it in my mind, whether that be black and white, colour, or somewhere in between. I try to make an interesting, and/or attractive image from what i see around me, not just what would be expected, but also subjects that would be seen boring, mundane, or ugly by many. But they all have an interest as art photography. I have also spent nearly twenty years working as a life model, then the human figure in art is very important to me, and is something i try to bring into my work at times.
This entry was posted in Outdoors and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gardening or photos? How about both!

  1. opticbard says:

    So very different to see you photography flowers. I have to admit that normally I’m not a fan of flower photography, but I like your style.

    • PurpleT says:

      Thank you, i’m glad you like my style :-)
      I’ve just added three more photos to the post, including a couple of black and white if you’re interested……..

      • opticbard says:

        Very interesting, I’m not used to seeing floral photos in black and white, I really like the last one.

        • PurpleT says:

          A lot of people have done floral black and white photos, but you don’t tend to see them too often.
          I used to be a high contrast black and white freak when used film and had use of a darkroom. I still go back to black and white quite a lot, it’s how i see things when i pick up a camera, so even flowers lose their colour ;-)

Leave a Reply

