London Underground

I like to “shoot from the hip” sometimes (shoot candidly with the camera held low by the hip) It’s something the G9 was great for as it was a good size to hold firmly. As a DSLR is bigger and more ungainly to hold low, then i like to sometimes use the vertical grip shutter button with the camera hanging around my neck, so it’s really more like “shooting from the belly button”.

Walking around the London underground the other day between trains gave me the chance to try a few shots using this technique. Whilst it can seem a bit random what you shoot, you get used to where the camera is pointing and can frame the shots reasonably well, but not being quite sure what you’ve got can give an edge to the photos. It’s a good style of street photography, though not in the way of getting close up portraits, but never the less, it’s a style i like and enjoy using sometimes.

Although i think black and white suits this kind of photography, i’ve decided to post the colour ones on this blog as i also quite like the cast that the lights give in the corridors. So here’s a selection………..

London Underground

The slight angle makes for a good composition in this shot.

London Underground

I like the way the guy on the right is taking a photo of himself going down the escalator.The lighting on the escalators is is different to that in the corridors and so doesn't give the colour cast.

London Underground

A train was just leaving as we arrived on the platform.

London Underground

The next train arrives.

London Underground

The crowds come forwards as the train slows down.

Due to the train being completely overcrowded, so much so that i could only just fit in as the doors closed, then it was impossible to take any shots on the train.

London Underground

Thee "EXIT" signs took us up the stairs.

London Underground

Upstairs in the station.

London Underground

On the way out.

P.T.

About PurpleT

Much of my photography is art and documentary. I try to capture a scene as i see it in my mind, whether that be black and white, colour, or somewhere in between. I try to make an interesting, and/or attractive image from what i see around me, not just what would be expected, but also subjects that would be seen boring, mundane, or ugly by many. But they all have an interest as art photography. I have also spent nearly twenty years working as a life model, then the human figure in art is very important to me, and is something i try to bring into my work at times.
This entry was posted in Snapshots and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to London Underground

  1. undeadnotes says:

    The people is almost like a big living entity…like a river of blood in some shots, i like the colors and the shadows, a few i dont like…but mostly its cool, a great experience :3

    • PurpleT says:

      I like your comment about it being a living entity. Some shots do work better than others. I did want to add photos from the train as well, but it was just too crowded. It’s a pity as it would have completed the set a little better.
      I had black and white in mind when taking them, but decided to use the colour on this post as i liked the colour versions, though the black and white do give a more documentary look to them.

  2. Netty Gritty says:

    Undergrounds are interesting locations. You have certainly created a wonderful story that shows pieces of everyday life in a candid style. I like that about this series.

    • PurpleT says:

      I often think of those pieces of everyday life when i’m traveling around. I love to wonder what people are doing, where they’re going, but in a flash they’re gone. It’s a part of why i like this style of photography.

  3. The first photo really messes with my equilibrium – I want to give in and fall out of my chair, just so my brain will be satisfied. šŸ™‚
    -Jen

  4. bookmole says:

    You could cheat, I suppose, and take photos in a train when it is not so crowded. To complete the set. I think I would.

    Lovely photos – I still, after 30 years of living in London, get a little thrill when I get on the tube. I suspect that NOT having to go into Central London to work helps maintain that feeling!

    • PurpleT says:

      Maybe one day i’ll get a few decent photos on a train to add to the collection, though i’d probably just do a new set…..

      I used to hate the tube. I don’t really like crowds, and i always used to get lost. Having had to go to London much more in recent years i’m much better with it, so much so i even think about taking photos now šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

