Pinhole DSLR and the figure!

Some years back i made a pinhole attachment for an old SLR using the body cap. It’s simple to do, just drill a hole in the middle and stick something over it you can make a hole in.
I never actually got round to using it as i went digital soon after, and so it was forgotten.
Recently i thought about that body cap, and searched it out to see if i could fix it to my DSLR. After a bit of trial and error i went with three pieces of Blu Tac. It’s not perfect, and it fell off a couple of times, but it did seem to work.
I tried a couple of photos indoors in controlled light, and it was ok, but looks like it has too much light leaking in, not surprisingly considering how it’s attached.
I wanted to take it outside, but as has been happening a lot this year, it rained!

Rather than take a few boring test shots indoors, i decided to go to one of my favourite subject matters, the human figure. With no model available i went with a few self shots.

The photos direct from the camera were very light with a soft focus effect, and not great detail.
I intended them to be black and white, but the first two here i added some tone.
For the second two i kept them black and white, but went much darker with greater contrast.

 

Pinhole Self Portrait

This shows the light soft focus effect from the pinhole attachment.

 

Pinhole Self Portrait

I quite like the effect in these toned versions.

 

Pinhole Self Portrait

Here i went for the darker look in the editing. I think this is my personal favourite.

 

Pinhole Self Portrait

Another of the darker black and white edits.

 

I want to try this outdoors for some landscape photos, but with the way the cap falls off i don’t want the camera left open on a long exposure if it does fall off. I’m now planning to get a spare body cap for the DSLR so i can make another pinhole attachment that fits properly.

 

P.T.

About PurpleT

Much of my photography is art and documentary. I try to capture a scene as i see it in my mind, whether that be black and white, colour, or somewhere in between. I try to make an interesting, and/or attractive image from what i see around me, not just what would be expected, but also subjects that would be seen boring, mundane, or ugly by many. But they all have an interest as art photography. I have also spent nearly twenty years working as a life model, then the human figure in art is very important to me, and is something i try to bring into my work at times.
This entry was posted in Ideas, Nudes, Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pinhole DSLR and the figure!

  1. Pingback: Playing about! | Tim Rawlings – PurpleT Photography

  2. Pingback: A Foggy Day For Pinhole Photography | Tim Rawlings - PurpleT Photography

Leave a Reply

