On The Outside Looking In (The Naked Adventure)

For anyone following this blog closely you’ll know i have a thing about nudity. I like to get naked. It’s fun. It’s comfortable. It’s natural.

I enjoyed being naked from a relatively young age. Part of the reason i became a life model was to help prove to people that i was serious about nudity and prepared to get naked and not just talk about it. The 20 years as life model also built a serious appreciation of the nude figure in art. I built that nudity into my photography. A theme i use in my photography is how we are forced to hide our bodies away, sometimes by photographing myself in out of the way places or in derelict buildings.

This photograph was taken on a day out in July on my birthday. I took a trip to the seaside town of Scarborough in Yorkshire. Despite the fact that nudity in public is perfectly legal, if you try and strip off on a beach that’s not designated as clothing optional you’ll almost certainly have people complain, maybe even become aggressive. You’ll almost certainly also have the police called if you fail to cover up.

All those risks for not breaking any laws? Really? Is it worth it?

I had to walk a long way out to find a place alone where i could strip off for a while and just enjoy the freedom without harassment. You can see Scarborough in the distance.

For me, a photograph like this represents the absurdity of the way many in society treat the human body as if it’s something dangerous, disgusting, perverted.

It represents how we are so often forced to be on the outside looking in.

 

 

On the outside looking in...

On the outside looking in…

 

 

 

P.T.

About PurpleT

Much of my photography is art and documentary. I try to capture a scene as i see it in my mind, whether that be black and white, colour, or somewhere in between. I try to make an interesting, and/or attractive image from what i see around me, not just what would be expected, but also subjects that would be seen boring, mundane, or ugly by many. But they all have an interest as art photography. I have also spent nearly twenty years working as a life model, then the human figure in art is very important to me, and is something i try to bring into my work at times.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Nudes, Outdoors, Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to On The Outside Looking In (The Naked Adventure)

  1. Devil possessed people complain about the God made form. They make people as uncomfortable as possible when they see it through the devil possessed person. Sexuality names are treated in the same way. The body is as naked as anything that is around the nude form.

  2. naturalian says:

    I’ve been on this beach,it is quite remote but I believe the Council even put signs up forbidding nudity which was illegal!

    • PurpleT says:

      Yes it’s quite a long way from the main beach. I didn’t see any signs forbidding nudity, if i had then i’d have probably done a photo next to one.
      All beaches are really clothing optional as nudity is not illegal. Unfortunately, trying to uphold that right can be costly.

  3. naturalian says:

    Reblogged this on Naturalian's Blog and commented:
    Your comments welcome!

Leave a Reply

